Phottix Mitros+ Flash Review

15 Posted by - Photo & Video, Reviews & Buyers Guides

UPDATED 140817:ย Even sadder: FIVE out of six Mitros+ flashes for Nikon have now failed me ๐Ÿ™ ย I can no longer recommend purchasing them at this time until they fix what seems to be a quality build issue. ย As an interim replacement, I’m using (and can recommend) the Phottix Odin TCU and Receiver kit. Along with our Nikon SB900’s they’ve been very reliable and don’t exhibit the unexpected non-linear manual-power performance of the Mitros+ flash. I’m not giving up on the Mitros+ and am hopeful they’ll be able to deliver a perfectly working and reliable system soon. But in their current state, there are obvious fixes to be made.

UPDATED 140708: Sadly a second of four flashes failed at our last wedding ๐Ÿ™ It only flashes once every 3-5 exposures. Phottix service has been great at sending replacements, but I’d rather not use their 2-year warranty and just have reliable flashes to use. Updated recommendation for Nikon Mitros+ users: Still have issues with remote manual power control and reliability, but we’re personally still using this system – love the simplicity and lightweight system and when it works, it’s wonderful. Hoping they fix the kinks and we can wholeheartedly recommend soon.

UPDATED 140620: Recommendation for Nikon Mitros+ users to NOT update to firmware 1.05. Thanks to photographer friend Mark Romine who bravely did so but found the manual power control further reduced. Check out his comment below for the full story.

UPDATED 140603: Phottix *just* released firmware update 1.05 for the Mitros+ flash for Nikon. Several fixes are stated including tweaking of manual power settings, so here’s hoping. You can download the Mitros+ firmware update here.

UPDATED 140526: Revised Recommendation = HOLD for both TTL and manual shooters. One of four flashes failed at first wedding. Working to get a replacement from Phottix. Also confirmed that an on-camera Odin TCU (used as master) cannot get slave Mitros+ flashes to minimum manual power level of 1/128 – With Odin TCU set to 1/128 the slave gives several stops more light than when the slave Mitros+ is force set to manual power of 1/128. Still hoping forthcoming firmware updates and help from Phottix can make this system work as expected, but with the issues I’ve encountered I cannot recommend to purchase at this time.

UPDATED 140507: Shot our first wedding last weekend with 4x Phottix Mitros+ as OdinRX remotes triggered via 4x on-camera Odin TCU’s. Mostly good, but half-way through the day one flash just stopped flashing. It wasn’t worked that hard and was still operational as a radio trigger in Odin TX mode, but no flash would emit. Also found the 1/128 minimum manual power setting waaaaaay more powerful than it should be. Will need to test in detail, but looks like manual settings aren’t behaving linearly. Hoping a firmware update will fix.

UPDATED 140330:ย Revised Recommendation = BEST for manual flash shooters; HOLD for TTL shooters: Facebook Friends are finding issues with the Mitros+ when shooting in TTL mode. Reports include unacceptable recycle times, ย reduced power when bouncing the flash and other strangeness. ย As we shoot with 99% manual flash, we haven’t noticed these issues. ย I hope Phottix makes a priority of ย addressing these TTL issues as it’s not an isolated incident, but seemingly the majority which is seeing problems.

UPDATEDย 140306: Thanks to the great input of commenters on this article, I’ve updated the Pros Cons and Quirks section. Be sure to read the comments for real-world reports on reliability.

UPDATEDย 140311: Tested Mitros+ flashes with external battery packs and added comments in Pros and Cons section.


As professional photographers, it’s no secret that Quin and I love to literally light up our imagery. Mastering off-camera flash photography was a goal we made for ourselves over a decade ago and we continue to push towards the Light every shoot we do.

After testing (and being burned by) many off-camera flash systems, I try not to get too excited about new product announcements. But as a lighting Geek always on the lookout for the best, I was intrigued to hear about the release of the Phottix Mitros+ flash.

Note: we’re Nikon shooters, but Phottix has Canon-compatible kits too. ย This means much of this review is valid for Canon and Nikon shooters alike. ย WOOHOO!


What’s the big deal?

Nikon shooters like me have been patiently waiting for Nikon to catch up with Canon’s radio-controlled flash system. In a strange twist, Phottix has beat Nikon to the punch and, at least on paper, seemingly done Nikon flash better than Nikon.

There have already been innovative companies that add radio control to Nikon’s current flash offerings. But these involve the addition of a bulky radio unit via the hot shoe or optical port.ย Yet another piece of the puzzle adds an unwelcome layer of complexity to setup, battery management, and another link โ€“ the weakest of which may break the whole system.

The Phottix Mitros+ flash does everything Nikon’s flagship flash does PLUS adds radio triggering, remote zoom control and includes memory functions. Sounding too good to be true, I purchased an entire kit (actually, four) to test for myself.

Breakfast and Phottix Light Testing

Breakfast and Phottix Light Testing

What Makes for the Best Off-Camera Flash Photography System?

There are several “Must-have” features of any flash system we’ll consider using. These include:

  • Reliability. As a professional photographer this is a must. Sadly, many flash systems don’t live up to their own hype and fail to pass this test.
  • Shoot-position control. Not satisfied with simple dumb-flash-triggers; I want control at our fingertips.
  • Travel-worthy robustness. We’re not just studio shooters so it has to pack light and take the abuse of real-world DQ full-contact wedding photography.

Unique Requirements for Multiple-Shooters

Note: You can skip this admittedly extra-geeky section if you never plan to shoot or share your lights with other photographers.

As a husband-wife shooting team who loves to light, our requirements for off-camera flash are a bit more complicated than those of single shooters. The problem is our desire to simultaneously shoot and trigger the same flashes at different mode and power settings. This allows Quin and me to shoot independently while still taking advantage of each other’s flashes.

Said another way, any remote flash system we use must send all mode (off, TTL or manual) and power level settings (exposure compensation or manual power setting) at time of shutter release.

This seems like a simple point, but many currently available systems send power level changes at the time the change is made. This means, “She who twiddles the knob last wins.” Cool if you have one main photographer and other second-shooters who want to mooch the same power settings. Not cool when you have two equal shooters who want full control of each light.

Yes: Quin and I are both flash control freaks.


Phottix Mitros+ Flash Review

Instead of re-hashing great website like this one that cover the Phottix flash system’s feature set, we’ll try to give a more hands-on look at the Mitros+.

Video 1: Hardware Comparison of the Mitros+, Nikon and Canon flashes

Impressive hardware is one thing, but how easy is it to program and access the various radio modes and power setings?

Video 2: Hands-on with the Mitros+ modes and menu system

Though I had to crack the PDF manual open, the menu system is well thought-out and the UI allows relatively quick changes of radio modes and settings.

Video 3: DQ recommended Mitros+ Custom Functions

How we set up our Mitros+ flashes for stealthy, speedy real-world wedding shooting.


Pros and Cons and Quirks

Pros:

  • Smallest self-contained flash + radio remote package.
  • Takes ubiquitous AA batteries (versus managing CR123’s, AA, AAA, esoteric button cells … etc.)
  • Expandable: easily add studio strobes via Atlas II and Stratos II “dumb-triggers”
  • Backwards compatible: for current Nikon/Canon (additional hardware required) and Phottix Odin users
  • Firmware upgradable: includes USB cable for user-upgradability
  • Less expensive than comparable (and less feature-laden) Nikon and Canon flashes

Cons:

  • Pre-flash fires even when in Odin RX mode set to manual power. ย This adds unnecessary battery drain and annoyance (firmware upgrade fixable?)
  • Inaccurate battery meter. Recycle time may slow even if battery indicator shows full.
  • Slightly less powerful than Nikon and Canon flagship flashes
  • Proprietary external power port requires (included) Nikon adapter. (Would prefer native Nikon power port)
  • Fuji X100S (and presumably other non-Nikon cameras) cannot trigger Odin/Mitros+ for Nikon system (Wishlist: allow any standard hot shoe to trigger and control remotes in manual mode).

Quirks and Unknowns:

  • Bug: when atop ourย Nikon Df in Odin TX mode at max FP sync shutter speed (1/250), bottom 5th of frame is not exposed (firmware upgrade fixable?)
  • Buttons repeatedly “Beep” when pressed and held even with CF set to silence buttons (firmware upgrade fixable?)
  • Unknown real-world reliability and robustness: 2 year warranty gives peace of mind, but DJ radio interference, reliability and abuse-proof yet to be tested

Conclusion

It’s hard not to be impressed with what Phottix has managed to cram into the Mitros+ flash. As an expandable system, it becomes even more appealing, offering the most elegant solution for off-camera flash shooters to date.

My nitpicks are minor and I’m hopeful most can be fixed via firmware updates. ย ย If the Mitros+ survives our shooting season, it will truly earn the crown of King of off-camera flash. For now, it’s a hearty recommendation with the only reservations being how battery life/recycle time, radio reliability and robustness play out in the real-world.

140226-Mitros-Flash-Review-1

Thanks for reading and if you’re planning to make a purchase, would love your support by using the links below. Happy shopping and shooting!


Recommended radio flash kit for Nikon shooters*:

*Click here and scroll to the bottom for a list of compatible Nikon flashes and cameras.

B&H Links for Nikon shooters: Mitros+ flash, Odin radio kit, Complete Mitros+ and Odin starter kit


Recommended radio flash kit for Canon shooters**:

**Not compatible with Canon’s own radio flash system; recommend this over Canon’s for lower price, better feature set and ease of expansion. Click here and scroll to the bottom for a list of compatible Canon flashes and cameras.

B&H Links for Canon shooters: Mitros+ flash, Odin radio kit, Complete Mitros+ and Odin starter kit

***Why do we choose the Atlas ii Transceivers over the Stratos ii Receivers as our Mitros+ compatible studio trigger? Both will work great, but for us a pair of Atlas ii’s have the advantage of (a) much farther range (we’ve shoot across mountaintops and this would have be soooo useful) and (b) standardizing on AA batteries. ย For super-long shots, a pair of Atlas ii’s will get the job done, and anything for simplifying battery/gear management is welcome.

134 Comments

  • Andrew March 3, 2014 - 12:54 pm

    yay! thanks for posting this, it certainly answered some lingering questions I had. In your testing have to you found it pretty reliable in terms of consistently tripping the lights?

    • Dave March 3, 2014 - 3:47 pm

      Thanks Andrew ๐Ÿ™‚ Re: “pretty reliable”. It’s been flawless in testing, but other systems have been “pretty reliable” in testing too. I can’t know if it’s real-world reliable until I push the system through a shooting season.

  • Ricardo Carvalho March 3, 2014 - 6:10 pm

    Dave, I use this system and recommend Phottix Odin. I just think you should take the help of infrared transmisor to aid in focus. Congratulations on the review!

  • […] listed below still rocks, but we've been testing new tools and toys. For a preview, check out our new flash recommendations here.] [Updated 20130823: below is our 2013 shooting season gear […]

  • Joel March 4, 2014 - 12:15 pm

    Solid review Dave. I have been using my Mitros+ and Odin system for the past few weddings and love it. Solid build and reliability.

    • Dave March 4, 2014 - 12:20 pm

      Joel! Good to see you here and thanks for the kind words ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad they’re proving to be reliable in the wild world of weddings! Looking forward to pushing them when wedding season starts up for us!

  • Chris Mann March 4, 2014 - 1:26 pm

    Nice writeup… Regarding reliability – I’ve been using Phottix Strato II and Odin triggers for a couple of years now and they have never let me down – I would guess the Mitros+ will be similar.

    Phottix make good gear, with an edge on build quality I think compared to some other Far Eastern independent makes.

    And the interoperability of their devices is a big plus.

    • Dave March 4, 2014 - 1:42 pm

      Hey Chris! So glad our friends are finding our website ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to hear of your experience and Phottix reliability! I’ve heard others report the same and I’m hopeful the Mitros+ is of the same lineage. Re: interoperability. Yeah … I’m impressed how they’ve grown their system and included backwards compatibility when possible. Gives peace of mind when buying into their proprietary system.

  • mostlyfiction March 4, 2014 - 2:42 pm

    Anxious to see ‘real world’ tests that integrate the Mitros+, the Odin Tx and Nikon SB’s / Odin Rx’s , will they work in concert as I’m hoping? The Odin’s + 3 SB’s I have now work great and I’m thrilled that Phottix have now released the Mitros+ for Nikon ! Nice video reviews BTW . . .

    • Dave March 4, 2014 - 3:51 pm

      Me too ๐Ÿ™‚ Even after being disappointed by other “brand names” which don’t live up to their hype, I’m cautiously optimistic that Phottix will deliver ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading!

  • carlos March 5, 2014 - 8:57 am

    A most excellent and thorough review.

    • Dave March 5, 2014 - 10:42 am

      Thanks for reading and for the kind words Carlos!

  • Nelson Santos March 6, 2014 - 6:28 pm

    Nice solid “teaser” ๐Ÿ™‚ … I received an email from B&H about 1hr ago saying the Mitros+ Scott Kelby kit for Nikon was finally in stock, so I found your review and after watching and reading your post I HAD to place the order! Cant wait to receive it and put it to the test. If it is as good as it seems to be, I will be getting another one plus a couple odin receivers!
    I shoot weddings and I always have 2 bodies on me. Of course, I want to be able to trigger my off camera flashes with both cameras BUT using independent flash settings for each camera! I wasn’t sure if that would be possible but I guess it is.
    I wish the Mitros+ in transmitter mode could trigger stratoII receivers at whatever manual power the flash is set to. Also, I use the stratoII receiver on remote cameras to trigger them remotely at the same time I shoot my main camera using the stratoII transmitter.
    Also, I wish the odin receiver mode and stratoII receiver mode where not 2 separate options, BUT just 1 receiver mode that would work with both types of receivers. Why is that?! well… Maybe I have my main camera with the odin transmitter which I can use to control the power on the remote flashes and triggers them, and on my 2ND CAMERA I could have just the small stratoII transmitter to fire those flashes at whatever settings they were set to on on my main camera. Yes, I could just get an extra Odin transmitter, but besides being more expensive, they look way to big on top of my X100s (one of my “2nd cameras” lol).
    I currently own a few stratoII receivers and transmitters, a Nissin MG8000 (personally my favorite in terms of flash power, recycle, output consistency, and NEVER overheats!), an SB700, and a couple SB800 (which might go if the mitros+ are keepers)… hopefully I can get rid of all this and just substitute it with 4 Mitros+

    Anyways… thank you for your input, it really made my decision easier!!!

    • Dave March 6, 2014 - 6:42 pm

      Thanks Nelson!

      Re: Fuji with Odin TCU. Won’t fire even in manual mode (even tried taping all but central contact on the hot shoe). I also tried this with my Nikon SU800 and likewise it wouldn’t trigger a top my Fuji X100S. I’m going to update this article’s wishlist to ask for a manual-only mode like you suggest. That would be awesome!!

      Glad you found value in this article and please use the B&H or Amazon links here when purchasing ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Nelson Santos March 6, 2014 - 9:00 pm

        I will definitely use the link!
        The phottix stratoII work with theFuji X100s!Im gonna have to find a way of working around that… uhmmm… worse case scenario I will be mounting a odin transmitter on top of the phottix stratos transmitter just to make the Mitros fire with my X100s. Well, I will be making all those tests when I get it and I will update it.
        It would just be awesome if the StratoII transmitters could fire the Mitros.

        … BTW … I just looked at your website and really love what you two do! AND… I knew I had seen you guys somewhere… I follow Ghionis work religiously lol!

        ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Dave March 6, 2014 - 10:00 pm

          Wow! What a small world! LOL! We love Jerry!! So glad you found us over here on our personal blog ๐Ÿ™‚

          Ingenious idea of mounting an Odin TCU a top a Stratos ii on your Fuji X100S! Though that will look funky to be sure ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Yes: hopefully there will one day be an all-in-one solution for flash-geeks like us ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers and happy flashing!

  • Alberto March 11, 2014 - 12:54 pm

    This is a brilliant review. Thank you. I was just talking a few days ago with a friend that there’s no video reviews on the Mitros. Well, till now.

    I don’t have the Mitros +, but I have the Mitros. I have used it for everything. Portraits, products, food, fashion and beach shots. Its a incredible flash. I wanted to add one thing from experience with the Flash.

    I had some overheating issues with my flash and for some reason the flash would not update to the recent firmware. A CS Rep at Phottix read my complaint at a forum and contacted me. Once we discussed the problems. He replaced my flash with a new flash with the current firmware.

    I never encountered any service like this before. If anything, I can say without a doubt they stand by the Mitros.

    • Dave March 11, 2014 - 1:02 pm

      Thanks for adding to the conversation Alberto! Glad to hear of your Phottix customer service experience. Cheers!

  • Nelson Santos March 12, 2014 - 9:31 am

    Hey Dave, I received my Scott Kelby Mitros+ kit for Nikon yesterday! I will be posting a few first impressions soon…
    Anyways, when I click on ur purchasing link it takes me to the canon version on BH. If i navigate the page to add the Nikon version and some other stuff to my cart, do you still get “credit” for it, or do do you need to give me the direct link to the items? If so, please give me the direct link as Im placing another order today and I will be sharing it with a few friends.
    Thank you

    • Dave March 12, 2014 - 11:27 am

      Hi Nelson, Congrats!! Hope you have fun with it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Re: BH Links. Thanks for asking!! I have two sets of B&H links above: one for Nikon and one for Canon. The direct link to the Nikon Mitros+ flash is here: http://bhpho.to/1nkkRMI

      Looking forward to hearing your thoughts and Happy Shopping and shooting ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Nelson Santos March 12, 2014 - 11:59 am

      my bad… I see the Nikon link… I was clicking the canon version lol!
      Strangely it says that the Nikon kit is not yet available but I got mine yesterday lol … I was gonna place another order so I could have 2 for this Saturdays shooting :-/

      • Dave March 12, 2014 - 12:06 pm

        You’re right: I checked the other day and it was in stock, but today it says pre-order. It’s a bargain for the set so I think they must have sold-out quickly ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully back in stock shortly!

        • Nelson Santos March 13, 2014 - 6:50 am

          Hey Dave, sorry for being a pain in the b but I need a favor. You know that little adaptor that connects to the mitros in case you want to use a Nikon external power pack? For some reason my Nikon cable that connects to my power pack doesn’t want to fit on that little adaptor that phottix is sending with the mitros. It just seems like the pins on that adaptor are too thick or something to fit on the Nikon power pack cable. If you have one of those powerpacks that work on a Nikon flash, can you check if yours works? Im a little pissed off at this point lol

          • Dave March 13, 2014 - 9:14 am

            Hey Nelson, Sorry to hear of your troubles. I’ve tested it with my Quantum Nikon-cables and it fits perfectly (tight seal). Wonder if it’s a brand issue but an email to Phottix support with a pic of the offending cable will hopefully shed some light on it. Hope that helps!

  • Mark Adams March 14, 2014 - 9:53 pm

    Hi Dave,
    I am also an Ice Society Pro Member and loved the beautiful engagement shoot Jerry did with you two!

    I have the Odin TCU and 3 of the new Nikon Mitros+ flashes and was a little alarmed when I read in your review that the frame was getting cropped at the bottom when you were using the flash as a Transmitter, and the camera in High Speed FP Sync mode.

    I tried it myself with a D4 and didn’t experience the problem at 250th of a second (normal sync speed for Nikon) or at higher Auto FP sync speeds of 1000th of a second. Weird. Was the cropping problem being caused by the Master flash, or was it the Remote flash?

    • Dave March 15, 2014 - 12:03 am

      Hi Mark! Jerry is awesome and we’re so blessed to call him friend ๐Ÿ™‚

      Re: Issue at max FP sync speed. It was a top our Nikon Df’s and ONLY at 1/250; shutter speeds below and above worked fine. Odin TCU worked fine at 1/250th, so it is only the Mitros+ in Odin TX mode at 1/250 that gave me a problem (no remote flashes triggered; so camera-mounted Mitros+ in Odin TX is not filling entire frame with light). Hopefully it’s firmware update fixable but honestly it’s not too big a deal as other shutter speeds work as expected.

      • Mark Adams March 15, 2014 - 10:49 am

        I think I figured out the problem…

        The Nikon Df has a native sync speed of 200th of a second, like the D600, not 250th of a second.

        • Dave March 18, 2014 - 10:09 am

          I thought of that, but the weird part is, the Mitros+ works fine at ALL shutter speeds (including 1/250) when NOT in Odin TX mode. Also, the Odin TCU also works at all shutter speeds. This means it’s definitely an issue with the M+ in Odin TX mode. Thanks for the troubleshooting help tho ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Todd March 15, 2014 - 7:25 pm

    Dave,

    Great hands-on review. Knowing you shoot Nikon, and your Mitros+ are for Nikon, I have the Canon system and the menu “wrap around” function does not work like yours. The Canon system will only allow you to go to max setting and stops, then you have to arrow back down the other way!! Ugh. As far as some of your “Cons” listed above, if you would like to see changes, drop Phottix a message, they are a good company that accepts feedback for their products. Take care.

    • Dave March 18, 2014 - 10:12 am

      Thanks for letting me know that difference Todd! Hopefully the wrap-around can be included in a firmware update for Canon users. Yes: they seem responsive so far and hope they can make it all I hope the system to be. Cheers!

      • Nelson Santos March 18, 2014 - 3:14 pm

        to add to that… on my Mitros+ for Nikon, when I deactivate the beeping sound, the flash turns completely silent even when im going though the menu making all sorts of changes. I remember you motioning yours wouldn’t turn off.
        Im trying to contact phottix to see if they can send me another one of the little converters to use Nikon external pack on the mitros because my converter seems to not fit on the cable.

        • Dave March 18, 2014 - 9:00 pm

          So strange about the adapter. Would love to hear their solution. Re: beep. To be clear, all sound is off for single button pushes. But when a button is pressed and HELD to make successive changes (example from 1/128 power to 1/16) then it will beep every 1/3 stop change.

  • Nelson Santos March 25, 2014 - 3:01 pm

    Hey Dave, I got some updates on my experience with the Mitros+ for Nikon that I would like to share.

    1- Be aware of the adaptor to fit the Nikon cable when using external battery packs. If your cable is from either Nissin or Bolt it will NOT fit the adaptor, BUT the adaptor works fine when used with either the Quantum or the Impact version of the Nikon cable.

    2- As Dave mentioned before, when using a Mitros+ to fire another remote Mitros+, the remote Mitros+ will fire the TTL pre-flash even if the transmitter Mitros+ on the camera is set to fire the remote flash at a set manual power. This does not happen if I use the Odin transmitter to fire the remote flashes in manual instead of using the Mitros+ as the transmitter. This does drain batteries faster, makes recycle time longer, and its pretty annoying!

    3- For some reason, there is barely any difference in terms of flash output from firing at full VS 1/2 power. I tested this on both of the Mitros+ I own now and they both show the same issue. I would like other users to test it and let me know if they notice the same thing. just put the camera on a tripod, take a picture at full and then at 1/2 power and tell me if you see a stop difference in light.

    4- The recycle times are a little disappointing to me. Well I got to admit, I have been using the Nissin MG8000 which to me has the best power output, recycle, consistency, never overheats, and the interface is the easiest and most practical I have used! I have owned SB800, SB700 and SB900.

    5- In opposition to the Phottix StratoII, both the Mitros+ nor the Odin transmitters will work to fire off camera flashes on my Fuji X100s. Actually, if you use the Mitros+ on the Fuji it will fire FULL POWER all the time UNLESS you have it set to optical transmitter mode where then you can control the power on the Mitros+ output when you use it on camera.

    BUT… there is no doubt the Mitros+ has the potential to be my new favorite. Most of the bad things I mentioned can be fixed with firmware updates, but for that to happen Phottix HAS TO LISTEN TO ITS CUSTOMERS and I gotta say, their tech support is not the best. I have emailed them last week and I just received an email saying that my case was closed due to lack of activity.

    • Dave March 26, 2014 - 11:27 pm

      Thanks for the detailed feedback Nelson.

      1 – Good to know about the cables: I had ordered the Quantum cables and almost regretted it when I found other brands selling for a fraction of the price. Can also confirm the Quantum cables fit the included adapter and work fine.

      2 – Strangely, I’m also seeing the pre-flash in manual mode when triggering from an on-camera Odin TCU.

      3 – Haven’t had time to test but will definitely test this out when I get a chance.

      4 – Sad to hear. Wonder if it’s the extra strain having to power a radio transmitter AND flash with the same set of batteries. Are you also seeing poor recycle times with an external battery pack?

      5 – Yeah. Would *love* to have a TX mode which can be used on any standard camera hotshoe which controls and triggers remotes via manual power settings.

      Re: tech support. Sorry to hear. My experience has been great so far. I’ve taken the liberty to forward your email to them so hopefully they can help you resolve your issues.

      Cheers and thanks for sharing!

  • Nelson Santos March 31, 2014 - 2:38 pm

    Hey Dave, its me again lol
    Just following up on the review:
    I got an email from Steve (a Phottix representative) and we are going over some of the things I mention in an attempt to improve the flash. It seems like there will be a firmware upgrade soon to re-optimizes flash power levels.

    Also, It would be great if you could develop on your experience using the off camera mitros+ with multiple shooters. I shoot with 2 cameras on me all the time. This past Sunday I had a photo-shoot and I was using 1 off camera Nikon flash on an odin receiver, and a mitros+ on my main camera and the odin transmitter on the second camera. Both transmitters were set to different power values. Well, I can tell you that based on my experience, the remote flash wasn’t doing too well adjusting power from one transmitter setting to the other. It became so inconsistent that I unfortunately had to just change the off camera flash to manual power and deal with it that way. Definitely upsetting. I will be making further tests soon.

    Again, I would love to see a follow up video where you would tell us about your experience with this system in the field.

    Thank you

    • Dave March 31, 2014 - 4:03 pm

      Good to hear you’re being taken care of by Phottix Nelson!

      Re: multiple shooters. We are 2 shooters with 2 cams each, each triggering 4 Mitros+ as Odin RX with Odin TCU’s on each of 4 cameras. Only shot a small maternity so far, but it all worked flawlessly. Note we shot 100% manual flash power, so wonder if your issues were seen in TTL mode?

  • John Crozier April 14, 2014 - 3:21 pm

    Hello Dave,
    Excellent review. I bought these flashes for all the same reasons and I in theory love their flexibility.

    These do seem to have some bugs to work out of them. Myself and I a few others who have invested in these have experienced overexposure issues when when in off-camera ttl mode. Have you played around with this? Essentially dial up your ISO around 1600 and fire your mitros+ in odin ttl mode from an odin or mitros+ odin tx mode.

    I am trying to see if there are simply a few isolated incidences or if this is a major glitch.

    thanks, and I really enjoyed your review.

    • Dave April 14, 2014 - 3:38 pm

      Thanks for the input John. We personally don’t shoot TTL very much at all (read: never at paid shoot … yet). But I’ve also heard from friends about similar TTL exposure and recycle time issues as you note, so unfortunately you’re not alone. The good news: heard through the grape-vine that Phottix is working on a firmware update. Hopefully it arrives before shooting season starts!

  • Bob April 30, 2014 - 8:45 am

    Thanks for the thorough review, Dave. I need to travel small and light for the type of shooting I do and it helped confirm that it was time to drop the excellent, yet somewhat cumbersome radiopopper system I had been using. It was, by far, the most reliable radio triggering system for Nikon, but the Mitros+ and Odin setup adds a level of simplicity that I couldn’t ignore. Truth be told, I was tired of waiting for Nikon to step up and get into the integrated radio triggering game.

    I’m not sure how much you’ve experimented with a combination of Mitros+ and SB’s (I have a few SB910’s as well, so I purchased the Odin package with 2 receivers) but one thing pleasantly surprised me… Despite the fact that the Mitros+ only zooms to 105mm, the Odin Transmitter allows you to push remote zooms up to 200mm! This is great for mixed flash situations and, in particular, for rim lighting. It just shows the attention to detail that Phottix has put into this system.

    I had them out for a test run this past weekend and they performed flawlessly. I do have to say, though, that despite a larger Guide No., the Mitros+ isn’t as powerful as the SB910’s. They aren’t world apart, but the GN of 58 seems to be pretty generous.

    • Dave April 30, 2014 - 10:07 am

      Thanks for the kind words and feedback! Yes: looking forward to the simplicity. I haven’t integrated the Odin/Phottix system with my SB’s but good to hear it’s working for you with added functionality.

      Wedding season starts for us this weekend, so will know more about how it performs in the real-world real soon ๐Ÿ™‚

      Happy shooting and God bless ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Nelson Santos May 1, 2014 - 7:08 am

        Hey Hey, im back lol!
        Good luck on the upcoming wedding season! Im quite excited to see your work on the upcoming weddings, and also to see your follow up review of this flash system.
        I have found some extra flaws that definitely disappoint me. I usually use remotely placed cameras on church balconies and altar. I used to trigger them off my main camera using the Phottix StratoII. Guess what, for some reason, although the Mitros+ can trigger the stratoII receivers, it wont work if those receivers are being used to trigger cameras.
        Also, i keep finding flaws when working with 2 shooters (2 cameras at different remote flash settings). Unfortunately, i always end up using the remote flashes set to manual power which completely defeats the purpose of this flash system. Maybe it will work fine for those using just one camera, but to my experience, its not there yet when working with 2 shooters.
        Hope you don’t have the same issues. Keep us posted!

        • Dave May 1, 2014 - 8:28 am

          Hey Nelson!!

          Re: Mitros+ TX to StratosII Camera release. Doh! Actually .. I never even thought of that configuration and we don’t use remote cams.

          Re: 2 shooters. I remember you mentioned this before. You mean when you are shooting 2 cams triggering Mitros+ RX in TLL? We shoot Mitros+ RX manual flash and seem to be doing ok for different power levels. But the real test comes very soon as we shoot our first wedding.

  • Scott Akins May 7, 2014 - 12:29 pm

    Dave,
    Thanks for taking the time to write the review. I’ve noticed that if all 3 groups (A, B, C) are set to off or manual on the Odin transmitter that no preflash occurs. I only have one Mitros flash so couldn’t test this using a flash (on camera) as the transmitter. Could you verify that you are seeing the same results. Scott

    • Dave May 7, 2014 - 10:26 pm

      Thanks Scott! Re: pre-flash in manual. Just shot a wedding this past weekend with the system and on ours they pre-flash. I can see the pre-flash through the viewfinder (unlike with Nikon’s native manual flash system: since the flash head only goes off at time of exposure, the viewfinder “blinks”, obscuring the flash). Will update this post with some weirdness we saw at the wedding too.

      • Scott Akins May 8, 2014 - 8:44 am

        Dave,
        Are you running the latest firmware for the Odin transmitter (V. 1.06)? I’m wondering if this is why you are seeing the preflash on manual and I’m not. I do see it on TTL and have major exposure issues on TTL.

  • Spiros Zaharakis May 26, 2014 - 6:18 pm

    My Mitros+ failed also on my 2nd weding.

    It simply stop firing after a short while half way through the wedding.

    • Dave May 27, 2014 - 10:53 am

      Sad to hear it Spiros ๐Ÿ™ It’s hard when the gear we rely on fails.

  • Nelson Santos June 2, 2014 - 1:05 pm

    Unfortunately I share the same experience. 1 out of 3 of my Mitros+ Units stopped firing. I returned it to B&H, got my money back and I got the Flashpoint Streaklight 360Ws from Adorama during the Memorial day sale. $600 for a 360ws portable stobe (very similar to the Quantum flashes) with a battery pack a transmitter/receiver set that allows me to change power remotely. Used it at the last wedding and I gotta admit that im super happy with its performance. I used it connected to my Phottix StratosII receiver so I was firing off my Mitros+ flash. I kept the Flashpoint transmitter in my pocket to change power if needed.
    Unfortunately I also cant recommend the Mitros+. Its inconsistency and unreliability do not inspire trust. Im still keeping the other 2 units for now, but im not investing on more of these flashes until I feel confident Phottix has made the necessary improvements.

    • Dave June 3, 2014 - 2:02 pm

      Sorry to hear that Nelson. After a couple more weddings I’m still liking the simplicity of the setup but its shortcomings are also not going anywhere. I hear a firmware update is imminent and I hope they fix the big issues.

      • Scott Akins June 3, 2014 - 5:36 pm

        They released new firmware today for the Nikon version. 1.05. Just downloaded it and will test it out.

        • Dave June 3, 2014 - 6:56 pm

          Glad to hear it! Would love to hear the good/bad after your tests Scott ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Scott Akins June 4, 2014 - 6:21 am

            I did some quick tests with the new firmware installed. Not under controlled conditions by any means, just a quick test.

            Before the update: the flashes failed to recognize that ISO had been changed on the camera in TTL mode. A correct exposure at 100 ISO would become overexposed as the ISO was increased and would be totally blown out by the time you reached 3200 ISO.

            After the update: In TTL mode, the exposures have been fairly consistent across all ISOs up to 6400 (didn’t test higher). Even wide open (F1.8) at 3200 ISO, 1/30 second was correctly exposed.

            Need to do some more testing to see what else has changed but it’s definitely much better than it was.

          • Dave June 4, 2014 - 9:45 am

            Glad to hear it! Just downloaded and hoping to do some serious light testing in manual mode soon. Thanks for sharing Scott! ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Jesse June 9, 2014 - 10:24 am

            Hey Dave! Any idea if the firmware update fixed some of the major issues with the Nikon version of this flash? I’m interested in buying the Scott Kelby kit but I’m holding off for now. Thanks for your awesome review!

          • Dave June 9, 2014 - 10:38 am

            Hi Jesse, Unfortunately I’ve not been able to update the firmware using my mac (other’s are reporting the same problem). This being said, that package deal is the best I’ve seen and though I can’t wholeheartedly recommend Phottix, we’re still personally using it in our studio. Sorry to not be of more help, but I’ll update this article when I get a chance to update and test.

  • Mathieu Louis-Seize June 13, 2014 - 11:57 am

    Hi Dave!

    Great review and love yours and Quinn’s work!

    I just have two quick questions for you!

    If using the Phottix Mitros+ as a transmitter on your camera can you:

    A) Still manually control the power output of other off camera Mitros +’s, or do you need the Odin transmitter to do so?

    B) If using the Mitros+ on camera solely as a transmitter will it still fire or can you control off camera Mitros+’s without it firing as well?

    If both of the above check out I’d love to use the Mitros+ as my transmitter on camera to be able to switch to on camera bounce flash on a whims notice should something epic be going on outside of my pre positioned off camera flashes sites. Also, would be nice to have the focus assist on camera too if needed.

    And finally, for what it’s worth, I really find you, Quinn and your boys to be quite inspiring in so many more ways than one. Keep up the awesomeness all of you!

    Cheers,

    Matt (and Ann)
    Green Tea Photography

    • Dave June 13, 2014 - 3:18 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Mathieu! This is a labour of love so feedback like yours makes it all the more worthwhile ๐Ÿ™‚

      A. Yes. Mitros+ as TX can control Mitros+ RX in manual power
      B. Yes. Can toggle on-camera Mitros+ TX on/off while transmitting to slaves.

      Hope this helps and happy flashing ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Mathieu Louis-Seize June 26, 2014 - 9:56 am

        Yup! Thanks Dave! Will be clicking the link and ordering some units!

        Cheers,
        Matt

      • Mathieu Louis-Seize June 26, 2014 - 9:57 am

        Thanks Dave! Will be clicking the links above to order a few units!

        Cheers,
        Matt

        • Mathieu Louis-Seize June 26, 2014 - 9:59 am

          Oops! Thought the first one didn’t go through! =)

          • Dave June 26, 2014 - 10:51 am

            No worries and THANK YOU for your support! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Flashing!

  • Adam June 15, 2014 - 11:42 am

    I picked up a couple of these and if they worked right, they’d be perfect. However, the recycle time is brutal and the TTL exposures are inconsistent. The newest firmware, only made matters worse for me it seems.

    Also one of my locking pins quit going back to unlock position completely. It was stuck on my camera for a wedding. After much holding my D4 upside and wiggling it finally came off. Sending it back to B&H for a replacement soon. I’d be returning them completely, but I bought special kits that I no longer all the accessories that it came with.

    • Dave June 15, 2014 - 3:21 pm

      Sorry to hear of your troubles even with the firmware update Adam. I haven’t updated successfully yet and may not as shooting season is upon us and living with the “devil I know” may be better than opening pandora’s box with new issues.

  • Mark Romine June 20, 2014 - 8:55 am

    I would highly recommend holding off on the firmware update for Nikon Mitros + that was released on June 4/2014. I now wished that I had never done it but too late now.

    First it was a major pain to get the firmware updated in the first place. The updater would not work under Mac OS 10.8.x (Mavericks) It also would not work under Windows XP.

    I was finally able to upgrade to the latest firmware for the Phottix Mitros + for Nikon using a Windows machine and Windows 8. But the update (1.05) has made things far worse as far as controlling power levels of off camera speed lights, both Mitros + and Nikon SB900 units.

    Before the firmware update of 1.05 I was able to get a four stop power variation when going from 1/128 up to full power using either a TCU on camera or a Mitros + on camera to fire either another Mitros + or a Nikon SB 900 mounted on an Odin Receiver for Nikon. That should have been a seven stop range from 1/128 to full power.

    Now I’m only getting two stops when going from 1/128 to full power. Using either a TCU or a Mitors + to fire another Mitros + off camera. We have gone backwards.

    I get different results when firing an off camera SB 900 using either the TCU or a Mitros +. I get 3.5 to a 4 stop variation using this combo.

    I haven’t used them at a wedding since the update so I can’t speak to TTL consistencies. Before the update I found that there were some problems with TTL too. Recycle times were not very good before the firmware update. I have no idea where they are now.

    • Dave June 20, 2014 - 9:19 am

      Oh man Thanks for sharing your experience Mark. Truly appreciated!!! I’ve been holding off on the firmware update as we’re in the thick of shooting season and definitely prefer working with the devil I know. Sooo sad to hear of the step backwards ๐Ÿ™ I’m pretty sure Phottix is listening, but hope for a fix to come sooner than later.

  • Andrew June 23, 2014 - 11:06 pm

    Great review Thank YOU!

    I agree on the point about Pre Flash when in Odin RX mode…..Annoying and wasteful.

    Other than that my Canon unit is happily married to odins and 580 ex ii, and working great.

    I only wish Phottix ‘s customer support was as good……..Have left many tickets on same issue but am yet to receive a reply. I actually don’t think their user account system works, or at least has issues. The tickets I leave don not register on my dashboard , even though I get an automated system email acknowledging lodgement,…. And when I take the link provided in the email to review the Ticket I get a Fatal Error Message………. I GIVE UP IN TH END!

    • Dave June 24, 2014 - 5:18 pm

      Don’t give up Andrew! I know Phottix is listening but yes: perhaps a flawed support system. I’m relaying as many messages as I can on my end as well and hope for a fix sooner rather than later. Thanks for contributing here ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Andrew June 24, 2014 - 6:08 pm

    Thanks Dave.

    As it happens I just received a direct email from Phottix Europe replying to one I sent them in frustration some weeks ago. In the email they included the Ticket thread and reply that was supposedly sent to me 12 hours after I lodged it.

    Needless to say I never received it , Nor did the ticket ( and others created after) show up on “My Tickets” on My Dashboard in My Account.
    Anyway I have gone back to Phottix and explained all of that again…hopefully they will do something to fix their system or just revert to simple old direct email support.

    My faith was restored at least when I received the email this morning.

    I also asked Phottix Europe to p[ass on a suggestion for a future Firmware update to the Mitros+ for Canon. Can you suggest as well.

    Suggestion:

    Add a C.fn for disabling the blinking red pre-flash when set to Odin RX mode. It’s annoying and serves little purpose. (If the only thing the blinking does is show when ready after recycling, and/or that the unit is functioning, just add another small LED, similar to Triggers, at the front on the flash)

    The only way to achieve “no Blinking” at the moment is to mount the Plus on an Odin, which is a bit wasteful and costly.
    Alternatively you could opt for having only one “Plus” and have the rest Mitros “vanillas” with odin triggers, but that all means more cost and more to carry. The beauty of the “plus” is its simplicity of form ,its integration and flexibility, along with its performance and cost advantage….. if only I could turn that blinking off!

    Regardless, as it is currently ,imagine having 5 or 6 Mitros + slaves in Odin RX mode being triggered by a master or a TCU. ???
    If you added a siren in the background the setup would look and sound like a police ambush, and all the blinking would drive you and your subject/s insane!

    Andrew

    • Dave June 24, 2014 - 6:18 pm

      haha! Nice call on the ambush ๐Ÿ˜‰ Agreed: would be nice to be more covert without the blinking red. In the past I’ve gaffers taped our SB900’s to get rid of it, but at the expense of losing the AF assist light. Honestly, I just want them to make the REST of the system work as it should ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Andrew June 24, 2014 - 7:23 pm

    Thanks,

    Yeah ……I am glad I have the Canon variety, as the problems being experienced with the Nikon variant would not be much fun.
    ( And that’s not a sneer at Nikon either)

    I just can’t understand on the one hand the Canon working pretty well flawlessly and the Nikon having so many issues. The TTL systems of both must be very different indeed.

    Anyway I hope they get it right soon for all the Nikonians!

    Good Luck and again thanks for your review and assistance!

    Andrew

  • Andrew June 25, 2014 - 12:56 am

    Dave,

    More news from PHOTTIX Europe via email not their Support system.

    Here is their reply to my request for Firmware change

    “Thank you for bringing this issue with the ticket workflow to our attention – this will be dealt with.

    As per your suggestion: The problem of blinking red pre-flash light will be addressed in the next firmware. As a temporary solution we advise to cover the light with a black tape – this will not damage your flash.
    Thank you.

    Best Regards,
    Phottix Support.”

    Have to luv’em when they respond like that!

    • Dave June 25, 2014 - 9:43 am

      Thanks for the update Andrew! So glad to hear they responded and that their broken support ticket system works better than we had feared ๐Ÿ˜€ Ghetto gaffers tape trick to the rescue! LOL! ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Nelson Santos July 2, 2014 - 7:44 am

    long story short: 3 Phottix Mitros+ units stopped firing in less then 2 months of use (about 7 weddings). One i was able to return to B&H as it stopped working in less then 1 month. The second i returned to phottix for a replacement (which i received within 4 days and after 3 weddings it is still working). The 3rd unit stopped firing on me this last Sunday.
    All units could still control remote flashes. This is turning into a nightmare. I honestly do not want to keep these flashes as they have proved to be completely unreliable. The problem is, i invested about $1500 in the last 3 months on this flash system and phottix will not refund me the money.

  • Greg Gilmour August 12, 2014 - 8:52 pm

    Hi Dave and thanks for sharing all this Phottix info. My experience sounds like others. Jumped in and bought the Mitros+ from an Ebay camera store the moment it was available. Worked fine for two small weddings then started misfiring and giving inconsistent exposures. I live in Canada and there is no Canadian repair center yet so I had to ship it to Virginia for repairs. A new flash tube was installed and the return time was very good but cost me $90.00 with import fees etc. I have used it for several weddings and it is making me happy. Perhaps with so many units having similar problems they got a bad batch of flashtubes. I have been using the Mitros+ on camera as a bounce fill and trigger an SB800 in manual mode on an Odin receiver. I do not get that annoying preflash that makes subjects blink but cannot get full power out of the SB800 with the Mitros+ set for1/1. I think that once the bugs get worked out they will have a great unit. I’m sure that a Nikon flash with radio slave is just around the corner, so things will get interesting.

    • Dave August 13, 2014 - 11:07 am

      Hello fellow Canadian! Thanks for sharing your experience here Greg. Sad to hear of the continued problems and customs fees, but glad it got fixed. How many weddings have you successfully used the fixed flashes on? I’m burning through Mitros+ flashes at an alarming rate ๐Ÿ™

  • Andrew August 16, 2014 - 11:53 pm

    Back Again!

    Decided to test my Mitros + GN settings , against those of my two Canon 580 EXii’s using a New Sekonic 308S meter.
    Set up was a very dimly lit room, with Sekonic setup 3 meters (10′) away from flash at same level and triggering using my Odin TCU using 1/1, 1/2 and 1/4 power levels only to start with, and using 1/60 Shutter Speed. Lumisphere dome was on the Sekonic, which was pointed at the Flash and mounted on a light stand.

    What I found was the Canon numbers were about 2/3 – 1/1 stop overstated which was not a surprise and maybe something to do with their age (?). The differences across the power range changes however were consistent with what they should have been. That is my reading for full power at 50mm zoom @ 3mtrs was 9, and at 1/2 power it was 6.3 and at 1/4 power 4.5. So whilst the GN numbers claimed by Canon were a “little” out , the power setting gradations of the canon flash are spot on. ( note : have since checked my other 580 ex ii and 430 ex and found the same to be true)

    The numbers the ODIN told a slightly DIFFERENT story.

    Unlike some other reports , the “full power” result for the Mitros was exactly the same as that of the 580 exii indicating the same GN at least at that setting.

    However here is the listing of Aperture results from the SEKONIC 308S across the power range setting of the ODIN.
    Full Power : 9
    1/2 Power : 8 ( 1/3 stop increase in aperture )
    1/4 Power : 7.1 (1/3 Stop increase)
    1/8 Power : 4.5 (1 1/3 Stop increase)
    1/16 Power: 2.8 (1 1/3 Stop increase)
    1/32 Power: 2.2 (2/3 Stop increase)
    1/64 Power: 1.4 ( 1 Stop increase)

    I checked these results three times as I originally thought something must have been set up incorrectly. Same Results. So it seems the Odin is a “little” off the mark when it comes to consistency of the power setting differences. Getting that right should be a priority above getting a higher full power rating. What is important for me is knowing when I SELECT A SETTING , SHOOT, CHIMP AND ADJUST, the amount of adjustment is “true to label”. Unfortunately that is not the case with my Mitros+.
    HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS ISSUE?

    PS: I have also checked the readings for the full power range of the 580EXii’s and the 430 and can report they are consistent ( ie halving the power means you need to increase/widen aperture 1 Stop for same EV)

    • Dave August 17, 2014 - 10:41 pm

      Hi Andrew, Thanks for the detailed test results. Yup: I found similar inconsistencies in exposures with my Mitros+ for Nikon flashes. Scary that something as basic as manual flash power control was not diagnosed or fixed before launch. I highly HIGHLY recommend that you contact Phottix support and supply your findings. I did the same for Mitros+ for Nikon and hope they can iron out these huge issues.

      • Andrew August 17, 2014 - 11:38 pm

        Thanks Dave,

        Have contacted Phottix as advised with detailed description of test and results for the Mitros+. Very disappointing discovery and one that is very “scary” as you say! Hope they can fix this through firmware or there will be a lot of disgruntled Mitros users , including me, that will not bother to give Phottix another chance when it comes to flash guns!! Whilst not as expensive as Canon or Nikon units the Mitros and Mitros+ are hardly “inexpensive” .

        Very Disappointing!

  • Andrew August 17, 2014 - 12:04 am

    OOPS…… ” The numbers the ODIN told a slightly DIFFERENT Story” should have read

    The numbers from MITROS+ test told a slightly DIFFERENT Story”

    AND ………” However here is the listing of Aperture results from the SEKONIC 308S across the power range setting of the ODIN.”… should be
    “However here is the listing of Aperture results from the SEKONIC 308S across the power range setting of the MITROS+”.

  • Andrew August 19, 2014 - 10:59 pm

    Dave,

    Have been doing some more testing with some help/guidance from the Flash Havoc TEAM and I think we have it narrowed down to an issue with the ttl handshake of the INTERNAL TX/RX of the Mitros+.

    Using the same test methodology and utilising a Sekonic L308-s meter ( incident Metering) with all parameters such as distance, Meter mode, Meter Shutter speed setting, distance to light source, Flash Zoom etc kept constant here is the summary so far:

    A)
    Readings for Canon Flash 580exii’s consistently deliver a light meter result of 1 Full Stop ( +/- 1/10th) change for every halving/doubling of power. The Canons deliver this whether triggered/controlled Manually, via the Camera Menus , the stand alone ODIN TCU and ODIN Receivers, or the Built in TX of the Mitros+.
    The total Stop range from full power to 1/128 power varies from 6.9 Stops to 7.1 Stops depending on the method of control. So 7 Stops +/- 1/10th of a stop

    B)
    Readings for the MITROS + when triggered manually or via the hotshoe and Camera Menus also deliver a light meter result of 1 Full Stop ( +/- 1/10th) Change for every Halving/Doubling of Power. The total stop range for this method of control from Full to 1/128 is 6.9 stops.

    C)
    Readings from the Mitros +, when triggered and controlled via an external Odin TCU, regardless of whether the Mitros+ utilises its in built RX or is mounted on an external Odin Receiver, deliver variable stop changes for every Halving/Doubling of Power. The stop changes range from 0.6 through to 1.2 stops between 1/2 power and 1/128 and a very low 0.2 stops between full power and 1/2 Power.
    As a consequence the total stop range from full to 1/128 power is between 5.5 stops ( when mounted on ext RX) and 5.8 Stops.

    I have tabulated these results and the test methodology into a spreadsheet file and pdf copy if anyone wants full test results.

    I have sent the results to Phottix as well.
    I think we can conclude:

    1. The external Odin trigger system works very well with Canon flashes.
    2. The Mitros + works very well when controlled manually, or through the hotshoe and camera menus of EOS DSLRs ( ie not via Odin TTL radio trigger system)
    3.The built in Odin TX of the Mitros+ works well with Canon Flashes and is consistent with its external Odin TCU when operating in that manner.
    4.The Mitros+ does not function consistently when controlled by an external Odin TCU and that appears to be a problem with the internal RX.

    The evidence seems to be mounting that it is a problem with the built in TX or RX or both and or the interplay between the internal RX and the external TCU.??

    I would be interested to see the results for 2 Mitros+ units where one is a TX ( no Flash firing) and the other is in RX mode and its output measured with a meter using the same methodology or similar as my test.

  • Andrew August 20, 2014 - 2:43 am
    • Dave August 20, 2014 - 11:02 am

      Great stuff Andrew!! Your findings are very similar to mine with the Nikon system. I also used a TCU to trigger remote Mitros+ in RX mode and found similar manual power inconsistencies, and linearity when manually set at the flash. Hopefully our detailed findings = faster fix!!! Now if they could stop the flashes from blowing out …..

  • Andrew August 25, 2014 - 11:13 pm

    Thanks Dave!

    UPDATE

    A guy called Steve Peer from Phottix has contacted me and we now have direct contact on the issue. He is chasing up the Engineering guys on the technical side AND the website on the Ticket System.

    Mark Romine has a similar but not exactly the same issue with his Nikon variant so the problem is not isolated.

    Not a train crash but annoying…….. and you’re right … at least the Canon Variant is not blowing out !!!

    • Dave August 25, 2014 - 11:21 pm

      Glad they’re taking your feedback seriously!! Hoping for a hardware AND firmware fix sooner than later for all our sakes ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Raph September 24, 2014 - 9:08 pm

    Having the same problem – one of my 2 Mitros+ flashes has stopped firing… everything else seems to work on the flags except the actual strobe part…ie. the flash turns on, beeps, etc but no light is coming out of the flash – on camera or off-camera… working with my local retailer to get this sorted – will keep you posted.

    • Dave September 24, 2014 - 9:28 pm

      Sounds all too familiar ๐Ÿ™ Still holding out hope for a major re-working of their quality control … For all our sakes!

  • Gilbert October 3, 2014 - 11:33 pm

    5th Mitros+ Nikon that stopped firing for me, this time it happens just outside the 30 day return window, so im stuck with sending it to phottix indtead of returning to seller.

    I shoot weddings every week and cannot afford to lose one of my flashes, any help on how i can get a replacement fast? Thanks in advance. I really like the idea behind the mitros units but the busted flash tubes is driving me crazy…. 5 units!!! All from amazon, busted after at least 4 weddings.

    • Dave October 5, 2014 - 2:25 pm

      Oh man .. .so sorry to hear of your troubles Gilbert ๐Ÿ™ I would contact Phottix support online to see if they can help faster than Amazon can.

  • Dan October 12, 2014 - 3:31 pm

    I’m in the same boat. 2 dead metros flashes…. contacting warranty service… LAME!

    • Dave October 12, 2014 - 7:54 pm

      Oh man … Sorry to hear that Dan ๐Ÿ™ From all the reports of bad flashes, I’m thinking a total recall of all Nikon’s is in order. Unacceptable as is.

  • Gabor October 15, 2014 - 9:16 am

    Hi Everyone,

    I plan to start to build up my flash gear system for my Canon dslr. So actually I dont have any flashes.

    I mainly focusing flashes with build in radio receiver/transmitter like Mitros+ abd the upcoming Yongnuo YN-600RT. Phottix looks a littlebit more serious and decent brand, of course the price label is also higher. But I want a good gear not the cheapest.

    Thats why I planed to go o nhe “phottix” way, but now I red a lot of negative experience with the mitros+. Inconsistent TTL and dying flashes here, and other forums. But mainly I see the big problems with the Nikon versions.

    The question is: should I buy the Canon version and dont have to worry about the common issues, or these failures affected the Canon too not only the Nikon ones? So its better if I wait for a bt in the next few weeks/months the Yongnuo will come out the new YN600RT and maybe it will be a more stable model like the mitros+?

    thanks for your help guys!

    • Dave October 15, 2014 - 9:23 am

      Hi Gabor, I haven’t used the Canon system and don’t know enough people with hands-on experience with it to advise you one way or the other. But with continuing reports of failures on the Mitros+ for Nikon side, I’m sad Phottix continues to sell them instead of stopping all sales until the issue can be found and resolved. Sorry to not be of more help.

      • Gabor October 15, 2014 - 9:37 am

        Thanks Dave for the quick reply. I think than I will wait a littlebit with the decision. And finger crossed they will fix everything soon of course with the gears those have been sold already too not the newer version.

      • Andrew October 23, 2014 - 1:34 am

        Hi Guys,

        A new Firmware version for Canon was released on 16 October which according to the site addresses a Battery issue and fixes some recycling time issues. I never experienced any such issues with my Canon but have had annoying anomalies with and inconsistencies in the Power setting when set via TTL. All those are well documented on Flash Havoc so I won’t repeat again.

        I have also heard a Nikon update will be posted very soon.

        Anyway I will retest the Canon variant after installing 1.07 and post results over at flash Havoc on the “MITROS+ TEST RESULTS”

        • Dave October 23, 2014 - 9:25 am

          Hi Andrew. Thanks for the heads up on the firmware update! Unfortunately, there’s much bigger issues looming – reports of dead flashes abound for us Nikon Mitros+ users ๐Ÿ™ Until the hardware is fixed, there’s no way to test the firmware update.

          • Andrew October 24, 2014 - 8:10 pm

            Dave,
            That is NOT GOOD:-(…in fact that is very BAD.

            I know its not the solution but I wonder if those suffering from Burn Outs have the Mitros+ custom function for Quickflash function enabled (1) or disabled (0) . It is Cfn06 on the Canon variant and disabling means setting to 0 but I have no idea what it is on the Nikon.
            Disabling will prevent the flash from firing unless it has a full charge which means it slows the firing rate down. That probably annoys a lot of people who might be happy to have the flash fire without sufficient charge and risk an under\exposure that can be fixed in PP.
            So they might enable Quickflash, but the problem then is that you increase the risk of Overheating. If they have done that then I suggest they disable it until the firmware update is available and tested!

            It’s just a suggestion to those who still has a functioning Nikon Mitros+ and are waiting for the Firmware upgrade. It might just help them preserve the Flash and still use it until that happens.

            That said I agree that Phottix needs to replace all of those units that have failed as described above ….but a full Recall?…..not sure if they can release a firmware fix quickly….but if that is a long wait then definitely!

  • Andrew October 24, 2014 - 8:29 pm

    Dave,

    Sorry me again….BUT……………..I just watched your video on Custom Function settings on the Mitros+ for Nikon???????????

    Seriously I had not watched it before but it confirms my theory that many people particularly wedding shooters will probably have QUICKFLASH set to Enabled as you have suggested in the Video!……that’s logical and I agree with your recommendation for the type of shooting Wedding shooters and PJ’s do…..I would do the same ……….if the flash was functioning normally !

    BUT as I mentioned in my post immediately to this one …..,DISABLE Cfn06 AT LEAST UNTIL THE FIRMWARE IS UPDATED …….IT MIGHT JUST SAVE YOUR FLASH UNTIL THE FIX IS AVAILABLE ……and still allow you to use it albeit in a constrained way until that happens!

    Enabling cfn 06 will increase risk of Overheating I am positive!

    • Dave October 27, 2014 - 8:42 am

      Sound advice … If I had working flashes I’d give it a go, but honestly: there should be no such option if it causes devastating failure of the flash.

      • Andrew October 27, 2014 - 4:56 pm

        Agree wholeheartedly Dave…..its also disappointing that Phottix are not leading the charge on error diagnosis either but leaving it to the masses to find the problems! Very Ordinary I think!

        I did some more tests on the Mitros+ for Canon and QuickFlash effectively doubles your # of consecutive flash pops when used at 3-6 FPS, but probably also doubles the risk of burnout on the Nikon variant without proper OH protection.

        With help of MRomine also discovered that if the Mitros + TX on camera misses a shot due to recycle issues of OH protection etc , it also stops sending TTL trigger signals to off camera units until its own light recovers.

  • Clare October 26, 2014 - 11:37 am

    I’m glad I went with the SB 910’s & Odin receivers rather then the Mitros+ – I figured that in the event of a Odin failure the Nikon CLS system would be more reliable – Another thing, when guy’s like the Strobist when on about how rock solid the older Nikon speedlights were after many years of use, I figured Nikon SB 910’s would still be ‘poppin’ many years into the future!

    • Dave October 27, 2014 - 8:43 am

      Yes: glad you went that road Clare! As you say, our SB900’s have been rock solid with the Odin triggers so far. The biggest limitation now is the sluggishness of the Odin TCU transmitter – seems to take *forever* to adjust settings during the stresses of a wedding shoot. Happy shooting ๐Ÿ™‚

  • […] Phottix Mitros+ Flash Review – Not So Ancient Chinese Secrets. […]

  • Andrew November 14, 2014 - 5:24 pm

    Just to make you Nikon Shooters feel better….My Canon Mitros+ stopped firing 10 days ago, after having none of the issues you Nikon guys have experienced over the past months. . ๐Ÿ™

    Everything worked except the light itself…..WT?!………… It Just stopped!!! It was not under stress or in any way near Overheating…it just stopped. I rolled back the firmware to 1.06 as I had recently updated to 1.07………..same result.

    Anyway took it back and after a quick check and test the store I bought it from in June 2014 simply replaced it and is sending the unit back to Phottix. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hopefully it was just a bad copy as it had been working well since original purchase other than the annoying TTL power setting anomalies mentioned previously. The technician at the store could not find anything “physically” wrong ( eg. blown capacitor/bulb etc) so it remains a mystery at this point.

    On checking the new replacement I noticed it had 1.06 firmware pre-loaded indicating a “more recent” build than my previous unit ( 1.04 when bought), as do the serial numbers ( I think?)….

    Serial# Old Unit 8037101 2841 11F ( bought new June 2014 at a reduced clearance price)
    Serial# New Unit 8037101 4595 05G ( received November 2014)

    I’m guessing but I suspect the Letter at the end is year of Manufacture with F being 2013 and G being 2014. (I bought my ODINS in two separate purchase during 2012 and the Letter on all units is E) The two digits preceding the Letter I suspect is month and the 4 preceding that, maybe the unit count. The first 7 digits are probably the model/version number as my Odins similarly have identical digits in the first seven spots.

    Purchase 1 -Odin TCU and RX bundle – 8905002 0707 01 E (Both units)
    Purchase 2 – Single RX – 8905102 1672 06 E
    Purchase 3 – Single RX – 8905102 1892 06 E

    VERY HAPPY WITH THE NO FUSS REPLACEMNT POLICY AND WARRANTY STANCE !!!…..more testing and time will tell if the original unit was just a DUD?

    • Dave December 3, 2014 - 11:42 am

      Thanks for sharing your experience Andrew! While the warranty is great, 5 out of 6 failed flashes = not good enough for pro photographers who need reliable equipment ๐Ÿ™ Hoping they fix the Mitros+ for ALL users!

  • David Tucker November 24, 2014 - 10:35 pm

    Just a quick heads up on something I discovered regarding using the Mitros+ (Canon) units with an external power supply. You must connect the power pack, cable and flash together and then turn on the flash FIRST and then turn on the power pack in that order. Otherwise the power cable will not draw power from the pack, rather it will only draw from your internal AA batteries. On full power the difference in recycle time is about 8 second versus 1 second with the power pack correctly fired up. Hope this helps someone out there. There’s nothing in the manual about this, but for those using a power pack it’s crucial information.

    • Dave December 3, 2014 - 11:53 am

      Thanks for sharing your find David! Hard to keep track of the intricacies of every combination so your experience is mucho appreciated. Happy shooting! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Tien December 6, 2014 - 7:16 am

    There’s new firmware available for the phottix mitros and mitros + . Has anyone tried to update to see if the issue has been fixed?

    • Dave December 8, 2014 - 10:40 am

      Sadly that would require working flashes to test with … most of mine are bunk ๐Ÿ™

  • Kashif Rashid December 20, 2014 - 5:51 am

    Hey

    I am having pretty much the same issues with my Mitros+ on Canons. After a while, they just stop firing. I bought four and 3 of the 4 stopped firing or fires once in five clicks. I also have ETTL issues as their ETTL isnt consistent. I sent them back to where i purchased them from (which is a nightmare for me as i live in Pakistan and had bought them from Dubai) . They replaced the flashes and the replacements seemed to work but only for a while. They have started missing fires again.

    This really sucks as i am in a middle of a busy wedding season and i cant send them to Dubai again. This is truly a faulty product and although it looks so nice on paper, it isnt delivering. I often wondered that maybe the batteries were bad or something but after reading so many users complaining about the same, i guess its just a faulty product. I Just wanted to give the canon users a fair warning that things are the same on the canon side.

    Please keep us updated about any fixes that you might get.

    Regards
    Kashif

    • Dave December 20, 2014 - 1:38 pm

      Thanks for sharing your experience Kashif, but sorry for us all for having to deal with them ๐Ÿ™ Yes: Hoping that Phottix can figure out what the issue(s) are as the feature set and ease of setup is unbeatable. All the best!

  • David Tucker December 20, 2014 - 9:00 pm

    I’ve upgraded to the new firmware, and Phottix has sent me replacement units as my other set just had so many odd problems. The new set with the upgrade firmware are functioning much better, but they’re still a number of problems. First off, they seem to really go through AA batteries quickly, especially since I’m using an external power supply. When the AA batteries are even a bit low, it seems the units can start firing only intermittently, so I have to be really sure to keep very fresh AA’s in there. Also I do get a full power dump every so often which is rather disconcerting. I’m trying to make these work for me as they do everything I want in a flash, and I don’t want to upgrade to the Canon 5d mk 3 and the 600’s. It’s frustrating because they’re so close to being a really amazing speedlight.

    • Dave December 21, 2014 - 4:49 pm

      Thanks for the updated experience David. Yes: I wish they would work reliably as well ๐Ÿ™ Re: full dump flash. I would get this on Nikon’s built-in IR system when shooting quickly with the SU800’s as commander; seems to be the transmitter was failing due to weak battery (they take a single CR123), so wonder if battery is the culprit for the Mitros+ as well. Hope they work for you and keep on coming with firmware updates!

  • Steven December 29, 2014 - 12:32 pm

    Hi,
    I am looking for a solution of off camera RF flash for my Sony a7R and I noticed the Phottix flash and wireless system. I was tempted to to purchase Mitros + transceiver unit along with the Odin on camera transmitter, but it looking that the comments here, I am not sure how stable the Mitros + transceiver performance would be. Seems like they are suffering from some of the early problems of Pocketwizard’s minitt1/AC3/Flex5 system.

    Thoughts and suggestions?

    • Dave December 30, 2014 - 12:22 am

      Hi Steven,

      When it works: it’s magical. But my experience and that of others with the Nikon system has not been stable enough to recommend. I’m hoping they continue to work on a fix and will hopefully be able to recommend wholeheartedly in the future.

      • Steven December 30, 2014 - 7:58 am

        Dave, Do you know whether the Canon system has similar problems as the Nikon one?

        If memory serves me correctly Pocketwizard was able to get a stable canon minitt1/flex5 system out, but their nikon one was unstable for quite awhile.

  • David Tucker December 30, 2014 - 8:11 am

    After the last upgrade, my canon set of Mitros+ seem to be holding up and working quite well. The batteries seem to drain pretty fast despite the fact I’m shooting with an external power supply. The battery indicator is not very accurate, so I’m thinking I have to devise some kind of system to automatically change out the batteries halfway through a wedding shoot. That’s my biggest gripe right now. See my previous comments earlier in regard to using an external power supply, ie, power up the flash first then the pack otherwise it won’t work.

  • Joshua January 5, 2015 - 3:42 am

    Hi, has there been any updates regarding the mitros+ for the Nikon systems? Or are they still unreliable and failing?

    • Dave January 5, 2015 - 10:12 am

      Sadly I’ve not heard of an update that fixes the issues I’ve seen.

  • […] 4x Nikon SB-910 Speedlights. We’ve tried other flashes, but sadly nothing has held up as well as our trusted flagship Nikon’s (still using our beat […]

  • Anthony March 4, 2015 - 6:54 am

    Hello Dave,
    I have seen that phottix released a new firmware 1.06, any chance that it fixed the problems in manual mode?
    Many thanks
    Regards.

    • Dave March 4, 2015 - 9:33 am

      Hi Anthony, I’ve since moved on to another triggering system, so haven’t tried the new firmware. You can see my latest gear list here:

  • Gilbert May 18, 2015 - 10:22 pm

    Happy to report that all of the issues I had with the Mitros back in October of 2014 (5 consecutive mitros died on me) have been resolved!!!! We have shot at least 15 weddings since the last Nikon Mitros+ firmware update and have not had the previous problem that weve had where the bulb burns out and had to be serviced.

    The Mitros is working like what we have been dreaming about now. The Odin also has an updated firmware where the sluggish interface is now fixed.

    Really happy I stuck with the Phottix system.

    • Dave May 19, 2015 - 8:43 am

      Glad to hear they’re working for you Gilbert! Strange to think a firmware update could fix the blown bulb issue? Have you noticed longer recycle times from shot to shot to allow the bulb to cool? Would love to hear of a true fix … gives all photographers more options ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Sean June 9, 2015 - 8:56 pm

    Pre-flash fires even when in Odin RX mode set to manual power. This adds unnecessary battery drain and annoyance (firmware upgrade fixable?)I can’t light meter in manual guessing because —-
    I can’t light meter guessing cause is above. I thought it was my Sekonic but it’s not. Anyway around this?

    • Dave June 9, 2015 - 10:10 pm

      Hi Sean,

      (got your email but here is faster). You’re right: that pesky pre-flash is preventing accurate meter readings. I know there are dumb radio triggers that can ignore the pre-flash, but don’t know if there’s a flash meter with that feature? Not that it helps, my Yongnuo triggers also pre-flash in manual mode creating the exact same issue. Sorry to not be of more help ….

  • Sean June 10, 2015 - 8:52 am

    Ok I found to answers on this copying and pasting:

    1. To discharge early by using the FEL button (FV Lock with Nikon) – you can then Flashmeter on a Shutter button press – I do this all the time if working in M and wishing to meter flash.

    2. 1) As per the latest Firmware documentation – “Test Button and Light Meters: Pressing the Test button on the transmitter will cause the flashes in A, B and C groups to fire simultaneously. Group(s) turned off will not fire. When the flashes in A, B and C groups are set to Manual (M) mode, pressing the Test button on the transmitter will cause the flashes (which are powered on and on the same channel as the transmitter) to fire an initial low-power pre-flash. The flashes will fire simultaneously at their set manual power levels 2.5s later. This feature allows for light meters to be used correctly.”

    • Dave June 10, 2015 - 9:46 am

      Nice find Sean!! Glad you found a solution ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Sean June 10, 2015 - 12:27 pm

    Not so…. FV lock works in TTL not in manual.

    I don’t quite understand 2nd option:
    Test Button and Light Meters: Pressing the Test button on the transmitter will cause the flash to fire. When the flash is set to Manual (M) mode, pressing the Test button on the transmitter will cause the flash to fire an initial low-power pre-flash. The flash will fire at the set manual power levels 2.5s later. This feature allows for light meters to be used correctly.โ€

    But I don’t quite understand it. I press test on the Odin then press shutter 2.5 seconds later. Must find author of this. I’ll get back.

  • Sean June 10, 2015 - 4:09 pm

    In case anyone is interested I heard form Phottix US distributor who said following:

    You can use the Odin trigger (firmware 1.08) to fire the Indra using the test button on the trigger. You should have the Odin group that the Indra is in in โ€œMโ€ mode, set the power you would like and then press the test button on the Odin to get a meter reading. There will be a slight delay before firing. Change the power on the Odin trigger and take another test shot to get another reading.

    Regarding Mitros+ Doesnโ€™t matter if Nikon or Canon. Your Mitros+ should have 1.06 as latest firmware. When pressing the Odin to meter the Mitros+ the Mitros+ will do a โ€œtestโ€ fire and about a two second delay will fire the Mitros at the power level set on the Odin.

    • Dave June 10, 2015 - 9:51 pm

      Thanks for filling us in on the details! Phottix had great support for me, so I’m glad to hear they’re responding and helping you get to where you want to be. Happy shooting!

  • Sam May 10, 2016 - 5:02 am

    Having waited so long for launch of the Odin II and then bought the Mitros+ to get the perfect pairing; I am absolutely gutted to find that the AF assist beam is absolutely terrible and that it does not offer the long promised Second Curtain Sync (for Canon), which was the only reason I waited so long for it as opposed to buying a Canon transmitter for my 600EX-RT. What an utter let down and definitely going to be taking this lot back for a refund and sticking with my existing setup until Phoenix sort their act out.

    • Dave May 13, 2016 - 2:13 pm

      Sad to hear that Sam ๐Ÿ™ I’ve gone backwards to the cumbersome (but reliable) RadioPopper PX system, but it’s not ideal either. Cheers and happy shooting.

  • Joe May 11, 2016 - 7:01 am

    Hi Dave,

    Quick question….

    Being as it’s now 2016 and no replies for a while – i just wanted to open up the floor again. Are you still using the Mitros, or just a bunch of receivers with Nikon SB-x flashes? Have the hardware and firmware issues been resolved?

    Or have you jumped to PW or another brand yet, considering the slow speed of adjusting settings?

    I awaited the SB-5000 and have found it to be hugely disappointing at such a price tag.

    Thanks,
    Joe

    • Dave May 13, 2016 - 1:53 pm

      Joe: I’ve heard good things about more recent units performing better. But personally I’m reluctant to give it another go. If I weren’t a hired professional, I don’t think I’d hesitate to try it, but seeing as I can’t afford equipment failures of that magnitude during paid shoots, I’m once bitten – twice shy. YMMV